問題 > 生活方式 > 4年2018月XNUMX日
分享:

Starchitects

s1

如果建築物 作為城市文化結構中的主導線索,達拉斯的紡織品是前衛,現代和進步的。 瞥一眼天際線,充滿了世紀最著名的建築師的作品,暗示了一個充滿活力,充滿活力的城市,充滿了世界一流的美食,設計,藝術和時尚。 (達拉斯的地平線甚至被評為世界上最好的,在芝加哥,西雅圖和舊金山排名第一 今日美國 2014讀者選擇調查中,一位專家指出,該市“繼續保持華麗。”)

s2

“每座引人注目的建築都是其中的一種,並引起人們的關注,”達拉斯建築中心項目總監格雷格·布朗說。 達拉斯擁有普利茲克建築獎獲獎者貝,銘(IM Pei),雷姆·庫哈斯(Rem Koolhaas),倫佐·皮亞諾(Renzo Piano)和菲利普·約翰遜(Philip Johnson)的傑出作品,還有才華橫溢的本地建築師,即使是最差勁的評論家也不能否認它是建築愛好者的目的地。

s3

對於一個還沒有200歲的城市來說,達拉斯擁有一系列珍貴的建築,這些建築將其置於一條令人興奮的發展道路上 - 這種道路使得多年來陷入困境的疲憊的刻板印象深入人心。 通過上個世紀的安靜運動,達拉斯的當代產品組合不斷發展,通過具有藝術性和藝術氣息的開創性建築改變了景觀。 這是一個變態,包括高地公園村的開拓性理念和設計以及公園的1936完工,“藝術是建築物不可分割的地方 - 楣,壁畫,雕像和獎章,”Nate Eudaly說,達拉斯建築論壇執行董事。

閱讀全文

the issue > Lifestyle > April 4, 2018
SHARE:
WeChat

Starchitects

s1

IF BUILDINGS are the dominant threads in a city’s cultural fabric, Dallas’ textile reads edgy, contemporary, and progressive. A passing glance at the skyline filled with works by the century’s most famed architects hints of an exciting, energetic city teeming with world-class cuisine, design, art, and fashion. (Dallas’ horizon was even voted the best in the world, topping Chicago, Seattle, and San Francisco in a USA Today 2014 Readers’ Choice poll, in which an expert noted that the city has “continued to stay flashy.”)

s2

“Every building that stands out is one of a kind and has interest,” says Greg Brown, program director of the Dallas Center for Architecture. With significant works by Pritzker Architecture Prize winners I.M. Pei, Rem Koolhaas, Renzo Piano, and Philip Johnson, along with exceptionally talented local architects, Dallas is a city even the worst critics can’t deny as a destination for architecture aficionados.

s3

For a city not yet 200 years old, Dallas has a collection of prized buildings that put it on an exciting development path—one that upends the exhausted stereotypes that have beleaguered it for years. Through a quiet movement over the last century, Dallas’ contemporary portfolio has grown, transforming the landscape with groundbreaking buildings that are both artful and art filled. It’s a metamorphosis that includes both the trailblazing philosophy and design of Highland Park Village and the 1936 completion of Fair Park, “where the art is integral to the buildings—the friezes, the murals, the statues, and medallions,” says Nate Eudaly, executive director of the Dallas Architecture Forum.

READ THE FULL ARTICLE