問題 > 了解 | 鄉村之聲 >七月27,2020
分享:

認識…新朋友新生活的比安卡·傑克遜

七月鄉村之聲-2

說明新朋友新生活的使命以及您如何參與其中。

新朋友新生活 恢復被販運或遭受性剝削的婦女和女孩並賦予她們權力。 大約兩年前,我受邀加入該機構,擔任首席發展官,這是因為我有機會為陷於這個邪惡,非法行業中的婦女和女孩發聲。

告訴我們一些關於您自己和您的背景的信息。

我形容自己是一個孤島女孩,她正在大城市中前進。 我最初來自巴哈馬,大約20年前從費城坦普爾大學畢業後搬到了達拉斯。 我在醫療保健通訊領域度過了職業生涯的前10年,然後過渡到非營利部門。 我相信,我的呼籲是用自己的聲音來激發人們對社會問題的敘述,從而激發他人的影響力。

是什麼使“新朋友新生活”活動對達拉斯社區如此特別?

我們的活動為我們提供了一個空間,使我們可以教育我們的社區關於一個通常很難討論或難以接受的話題,因為這是在我們自己後院發生的一個問題。 通過諸如我們的年度午餐會等活動,從凱文·科斯特納(Kevin Costner)到烏瑪·瑟曼(Uma Thurman)的名人活動家,或我們的男性倡導團體早餐每年都會帶動350名男性到達拉斯鄉村俱樂部,與會者和支持者了解到,是的,性交易是一個問題在我們社區中,但它們也成為這些勇敢的婦女和女孩解決方案的一部分。

作為新朋友新生活的一部分,您最喜歡什麼?

我的工作有很多方面我都喜歡! 我最喜歡的事情之一是在達拉斯建立關係和建立夥伴關係。 我總是說,這個城市充滿了既有熱情直接面對社會問題,又有資源提供像NFNL這樣的實際支持機構來完成我們的使命的人。 我很高興能成為這個社區的一份子,並在我的這段時間裡建立瞭如此多的真誠友誼和聯繫。

高地公園村等社區合作夥伴的支持如何幫助“新朋友新生活”產生更大的影響?

高地公園村通過創造新的途徑和機會讓人們了解並支持我們的使命,從而幫助我們產生更大的影響。 由於得克薩斯州的人口販運倖存者人數在全國排名第二,而達拉斯在該州排名第二,因此,我們必須繼續發出警報以更改這些統計數據,這一點至關重要。 從舉辦發布會和午餐,到為我們的活動贊助商禮物捐款,高地公園村為我們的事業提供了一個公認的,引人入勝的平台。

北德克薩斯州的人們可以通過哪些方式參與“新朋友新生活”活動?

參與其中的最佳方法是了解我們代理機構的情況。 我鼓勵人們在社交媒體上關注我們或訪問我們的網站,網址為 www.newfriendsnewlife.org。 在這次COVID-19大流行期間,我們將舉辦更多虛擬活動,例如18月XNUMX日的男性早餐和年度午餐會。對於我們的社區來說,重要的是要記住大流行並沒有阻止性交易的發生。 實際上,需求甚至更大,我們比以往任何時候都更需要您的支持。

我們最有可能在Highland Park Village找到您?

我相信友誼和美食是相輔相成的,所以您很可能會在The Honor Bar或Bistro 31中找到我,與他們建立新的聯繫或在吃點美味的同時與朋友見面。

高地公園村(Highland Park Village)自豪地在此突出了我們自己充滿活力的個性和社區合作夥伴 鄉村之聲 系列。 了解一下 我們過去的功能。

the issue > Get to Know | Village Voices > July 27, 2020
SHARE:

Get to Know…Bianca Jackson of New Friends New Life

July Village Voices-2

Explain New Friends New Life’s mission and how you got involved. 

New Friends New Life restores and empowers women and girls who have been trafficked or sexually exploited. I joined the agency as Chief Development Officer about two years ago, inspired by the opportunity to be a voice for women and girls trapped in this evil, illegal industry.

 

Tell us a little about yourself and your background.

I describe myself as an island girl who is making her way in the big city. I’m originally from the Bahamas, having moved to Dallas nearly 20 years ago after graduating from Temple University in Philadelphia. I spent the first 10 years of my career in healthcare communications and then transitioned to the nonprofit sector. I believe that my calling is to use my voice to shape the narrative around social issues in a way that inspires others to make an impact.

 

What makes New Friends New Life events so special to the Dallas community? 

Our events create a space for us to educate our community about a topic that is often difficult to discuss or to accept as an issue that is happening right in our own backyard. Through events like our annual luncheon, which has seen celebrity activists from Kevin Costner to Uma Thurman, or our men’s advocacy group breakfast that brings 350 men to the Dallas Country Club each year, attendees and supporters learn that, yes, sex trafficking  is a problem in our community, but they also get to be a part of the solution for these brave women and girls.

 

What do you enjoy the most about being a part of New Friends New Life?

There are so many aspects of my work that I love! One of the things I enjoy the most is building relationships and partnerships here in Dallas. I always say that this city is filled with people who have both the passion to tackle social issues head-on and the resources to provide the practical support agencies like NFNL need in order to fulfill our mission. I count it as a blessing to be a part of this community, and to have made so many authentic friendships and connections during my time here.

 

How does support from community partners like Highland Park Village help New Friends New Life have a greater impact?

Highland Park Village helps us have a greater impact by creating new avenues and opportunities for people to learn about and support our mission. Because Texas ranks second in the country for highest number of trafficking survivors, and Dallas is second highest in the state, it is critical that we continue to sound the alarm to change these statistics. From hosting launch parties and lunches, to contributing to our event sponsor gifts, Highland Park Village provides a recognizable and engaging platform for our cause. 

 

What are some ways people in North Texas can get involved with New Friends New Life?

The best way to get involved is to be in the know about what’s going on at our agency. I encourage people to follow us on social media or to visit our website at www.newfriendsnewlife.org. In this time of the COVID-19 pandemic, we are hosting more virtual events, like our men’s breakfast and our annual luncheon on September 18. It’s important for our community to remember that the pandemic has not stopped sex trafficking from happening. In fact, the needs are even greater, and we need your support more than ever.

 

Where would we most likely find you in Highland Park Village?

I believe that friendships and food go hand in hand, so you’ll most likely find me at The Honor Bar or Bistro 31 making new connections or catching up with a friend while eating something yummy.

 

 

Highland Park Village is proud to spotlight our very own dynamic personalities and community partners in the Village Voices series. Get to know our past features.