問題 > 了解 | 鄉村之聲 > 8年2021月XNUMX日
分享:

結識……克里斯蒂娜·庫爾塔斯(Christina Coultas)與希望之門新起點中心

image001

 

請說明 希望之門新起點中心 使命以及您如何參與組織。

35 多年來,Hope's Door 新起點中心一直是科林縣和達拉斯縣東北部逃離虐待者的避風港和資源。 我們社區中每天都有受害者,他們生活的每一分鐘都生活在恐懼中,並認為沒有出路。 我們通過為受家庭暴力影響的個人和家庭提供干預和預防服務來提供幫助。 我在家庭暴力領域的第一份工作是 20 年前在新起點中心。 2020 年 XNUMX 月,我有幸回到這個出色的組織擔任首席執行官。

 

告訴我們一些關於您自己和您的背景的信息。

與家庭暴力受害者一起工作簡直就是我畢生的工作。 作為一名社會工作者,我有幸與倖存者一起工作了 20 多年,在各種環境中以多種身份工作。 我是一位母親、伴侶、女兒、倡導者、朋友和激烈的社區倡導者。 我有幸在達拉斯地區強姦危機中心、監督探訪網絡和德克薩斯州性侵犯協會的董事會任職。 目前,我在達拉斯/科林縣無家可歸者合作組織的執行委員會任職。 當不專注於我的宣傳工作時,我喜歡通過達拉斯市中心的 Altrusa International 與一個偉大的志願者社區一起服務工作。

 

是什麼讓 HDNBC 對達拉斯/沃斯堡社區如此特別和有影響力?

我們的免費計劃和服務包括安全、治療、宣傳和預防,其目標是幫助將受害者變成倖存者。 提供的服務範圍從兩個緊急避難所到諮詢,我們的客戶可以在其中製定安全計劃、更強的應對技巧以及從他們所經歷的創傷症狀中康復。 2020 年,我們接聽熱線電話 5,000 多個,安置了 142 人,提供了 11,000 多個夜晚的安全庇護所。 除了對經常在家庭不安全時求助於我們的婦女、男人和兒童的生活產生影響之外,我們還為社區提供教育和預防資源,每年讓超過 35,000 人意識到這一點。 我們知道製止家中的虐待需要所有社區成員的努力,我們必須接觸那些可能永遠不會跨過家庭暴力機構大門的人——這就是為什麼需要您和所有社區合作夥伴來放大倖存者的聲音並製定社區解決方案不能容忍家庭暴力的地方。

 

作為 HDNBC 組織的一員,您最喜歡什麼?

很簡單,人們、工作和社區為這項艱苦的日常工作帶來瞭如此多的快樂。 雖然這可能具有挑戰性,但知道有這麼多社區成員經歷過家庭暴力並且經常默默忍受,這讓我在這個來自整個社區的更激烈的倡導者的更大運動中紮根,使達拉斯和科林縣成為家庭暴力不合適的地方,並發出明確的信息是有幫助的。

 

Highland Park Village 等社區合作夥伴的支持如何幫助 HDNBC 產生更大的影響?

像高地公園村這樣的社區合作夥伴可以讓家庭暴力的倖存者尋求支持、安全和資源。 我們標誌性活動 Tapestry of Hope 的合作夥伴關係不僅使社區成員更接近我們的事業,而且是達拉斯地區領導力的燈塔,可以發表聲明。 這個問題很重要,我們都可以發揮作用來支持這些服務,我們致力於說家應該是所有人的安全場所。

 

北德克薩斯州的人們可以通過哪些方式參與 HDNBC?

當我們致力於為所有人創造一個真正安全和健康的未來時,我們知道健康是相互關聯的:通過幫助有需要的人,幫助者增加他們自己的幸福; 通過促進員工的公民參與,雇主可以從充實和充實的員工中受益。 通過團結起來結束暴力和壓迫,整個社區蓬勃發展。 我們為人們提供以任何方式參與這項使命的機會。 邀請演講者,在我們令人驚嘆的轉售商店做志願者,舉辦活動,為收容所送餐——志願者是我們工作的重要組成部分,我們需要你! 社區成員也可以通過簡單地在社區中提高他們的聲音來支持家庭暴力立法,挑戰使暴力長期存在的有害刻板印象,並告訴其他人你用你的話語、志願服務和財政支持支持這一事業。

 

最後,我們最有可能在哪裡找到您 最後,我們最有可能在哪裡找到您 高地公園村?

我 20 多歲時住在靠近高地公園村的最迷人的公寓裡。 我喜歡週末清晨的散步,我通常會在那裡找到自己的路,手拿一杯咖啡,清晨漫步在村莊的櫥窗展示。 這是在喧囂之前享受商店和吸收國際和當地影響的藝術的好方法。 如今,您仍然可以看到我在 Anthropologie 中挑選精美的禮物,在新的迷戀 Trina Turk 購物,並在 Mi Cocina 分享瑪格麗塔酒——您簡直無法抗拒!

 

高地公園村(Highland Park Village)很榮幸能在“鄉村之聲”(Village Voices)系列中重點介紹我們自己充滿活力的個性和社區合作夥伴。 了解一下 我們過去的功能。

the issue > Get to Know | Village Voices > September 8, 2021
SHARE:

Get to Know…Christina Coultas with Hope’s Door New Beginning Center

image001

 

Please explain the Hope’s Door New Beginning Center’s mission and how you got involved with the organization.

For more than 35 years, Hope’s Door New Beginning Center has been a haven and a resource for those fleeing abuse in Collin County and Northeast Dallas County. Every day there are victims in our community who live in fear every minute of their lives and believe there is no way out. We are here to help by providing intervention and prevention services to individuals and families affected by family violence. One of my first jobs in the domestic violence field was at New Beginning Center 20 years ago. In February 2020, I had the privilege of returning to this amazing organization as Chief Executive Officer.

 

Tell us a little about yourself and your background.

Working with domestic violence victims is simply my life’s work. I have had the real honor to work alongside survivors as a social worker for more than 20 years in various settings and many capacities. I am a mother, a partner, a daughter, an advocate, a friend, and a fierce community advocate. I have had the amazing opportunity to serve on the boards of the Dallas Area Rape Crisis Center, the Supervised Visitation Network, and the Texas Association of Sexual Assault. Currently, I serve on the Executive Council of the Homeless Collaborative of Dallas/Collin Counties. When not focusing on my advocacy work, I enjoy service work alongside a great community of volunteers through Altrusa International of Downtown Dallas.

 

What makes HDNBC so special and impactful to the Dallas/Fort Worth community?

Our free programs and services encompass Safety, Healing, Advocacy, and Prevention with the goal to help turn a victim into a survivor. The services offered range from two emergency shelters to counseling where our clients develop safety plans, stronger coping skills, and heal from the symptoms of the trauma they have experienced. In 2020 we answered over 5,000 calls on our hotline, housed 142 individuals, and provided over 11,000 nights of safe shelter. Beyond the impact in the lives of women, men and children who often turn to us when a home is not safe, we bring education and prevention resources to the community bringing awareness to over 35,000 people every year. We know stopping abuse in the home takes the work of all community members and we must reach those who may never cross the door of a domestic violence agency – that’s why it takes you and all community partners to amplify the voices of survivors and create community solutions where violence in the home is not tolerated.

 

What do you enjoy the most about being a part of the HDNBC organization?

Very simply, the people, the work, and the community bring such joy to this hard daily work. Although it can be challenging, knowing that so many community members have experienced domestic violence and often suffer in silence keeps me grounded in this larger movement of fierce advocates from across this community, making Dallas and Collin Counties a place where domestic violence is not okay, and sending a clear message there is help.

 

How does support from community partners like Highland Park Village help HDNBC have a greater impact?

Community partners like Highland Park Village make it possible for survivors of domestic violence to seek support, safety, and resources. The partnership for our signature event, Tapestry of Hope, not only brings community members closer to our cause but is a beacon of leadership in the Dallas area that makes a statement. This issue is important, we all have a role we can play to support these services, and we are invested in saying home should be a safe place for all.

 

What are some ways people in North Texas can get involved with HDNBC?

As we commit to creating a truly safe and healthy future for all, we know that wellness is interconnected: by helping someone in need, helpers increase their own well-being; by promoting civic engagement for employees, employers benefit from a staff that is enriched and fulfilled. By coming together to end violence and oppression, the entire community thrives. We offer opportunities for people to engage in this mission in whatever way they can. Invite a speaker, volunteer at our amazing Resale Store, host an event, deliver a meal to the shelter – volunteers are an important vital part of our work, and we need you! Community members can also get involved by simply raising their voice in the community to support domestic violence legislation, challenge harmful stereotypes that perpetuate violence, and tell others you support this cause with your words, volunteerism, and financial support.

 

Lastly, where would we most likely find you in Lastly, where would we most likely find you in Highland Park Village?

I lived adjacent to Highland Park Village in the most charming apartment while in my 20s. I loved early morning weekend walks where I usually found my way to a cup of coffee in hand and an early morning stroll by the window displays in the Village. It was a great way to enjoy the shops before the hustle and bustle and soak up the artistry of the international and local influences. These days you can still find me popping in Anthropologie to pick up great gifts, shopping at new obsession Trina Turk, and sharing a margarita at Mi Cocina – you just can’t resist!

 

Highland Park Village is proud to spotlight our very own dynamic personalities and community partners in the Village Voices series. Get to know our past features.