問題 > 了解 | 鄉村之聲 > 1年2021月XNUMX日
分享:

認識……法學碩士Louise Griffeth

KKS鄉村之聲功能

解釋 白血病和淋巴瘤協會 使命以及您如何參與組織。

幾年前,當我的親愛的朋友珍妮特·埃文斯(Janet Evans)和魯斯蒂·杜瓦爾(Rusty Duvall)發起第一次午餐會,為白血病研究籌集資金時,我就開始參與其中。 當我的丈夫蓋伊(Guy)於六年前被診斷出患有多發性骨髓瘤時,LLS的任務就變成了個人。 目前尚無法治愈這些血液癌,所以我們的目標是在蓋伊進行六個月的化學療法和乾細胞移植後保持緩解。 在過去的三年中,他一直在MDA試用中,他們認為這會使他的緩解時間更長。 研究和新療法對於我們以及所有處於血液癌症有時甚至令人恐懼的“新常態”的家庭至關重要。 我們感謝為這一良好事業籌集資金的辛勤工作!


告訴我們一些關於您自己和您的背景的信息。

蓋伊和我在得克薩斯大學就讀時相識了。 他一年前從UT畢業,正準備參加德州-SMU足球比賽。 那是1970年的萬聖節週末。共同的朋友認為我們可以一起玩樂,我們做到了! 我終於找到了一個像我一樣喜歡跳舞的人! 兩年後和我畢業後我們結婚了。 我們在48年30月2020日慶祝成立XNUMX週年。

蓋伊(Guy)在達拉斯(Dallas)出生和成長,我在泰勒(Tyler)長大,但是我很快就愛上了我的新家。 我們有兩個成年的兒子:Spence,是洛杉磯的站立漫畫; Teal,是在Lincoln-Harris商業房地產工作的,有一家名為YUM TUMS DALLAS的副業,生產美味的無麩質鬆餅。 蒂爾(Teal)為我們的家人安妮·格里菲斯(Annie Griffeth)帶來了寶貴的愛中的女兒和藝術家! 她一直是我們所有人的福氣!


是什麼使LLS對達拉斯社區如此特別和具有影響力?

我非常感謝達拉斯的人們和企業如何與地區性非營利組織合作,使這座城市成為所有市民的關懷和希望之地。 慈善事業在這裡受到鼓勵和讚賞。


成為LLS組織的一員,您最享受什麼?

除了幫助籌集研究所需的資金外,我還很高興認識了今年由令人驚嘆的梅琳達·諾爾斯(Melinda Knowles)領導的委員會的一些工作人員和志願者。 他們是如此有愛心,有獻身精神的人,對激勵我的其他人懷有真誠的心。


高地公園村等社區合作夥伴的支持如何幫助LLS產生更大的影響?

沒有高地公園村等慷慨的社區合作夥伴的支持,我們就無法做到這一點。 高地公園村(Highland Park Village)擁有悠久的慈善事業並提供良好的支持。 這是我在那購物的原因之一。 幾年前,我決定在達拉斯那些積極建立社區的地方購物或開展業務。 幸運的是,高地公園村(Highland Park Village)及其許多商店和餐館都是慷慨的捐助者,所以這是我去的第一站!


北德克薩斯州的人們可以通過哪些方式參與LLS?

他們為達拉斯/沃思堡的每個人舉辦了許多活動和不同的籌款活動,以及義工機會! 他們即將在11月XNUMX日星期四舉行即將舉行的情人節情人節午餐會和時裝秀-門票可在 www.SaintValentinesDayLuncheon.org.


最後,我們最有可能在哪裡找到您 高地公園村?

聖邁克爾婦女交易所(St. Michael Women's Exchange)–我們教堂的婦女,聖邁克爾(Saint Michael)和所有天使(All Angels),在這家神話般的商店里當義工,並通過一系列應得的機構,將這些錢捐給社區,這些機構都在滿足嚴峻的需求。 卡羅萊納州埃雷拉(Carolina Herrera),埃特羅(Etro),市場(MARKET),吉米·週(Jimmy Choo)和愛麗絲(Alice + Olivia)絕對是我的最愛,因為在那里工作的出色,慷慨的人以及他們出售的漂亮時裝。 即使在大流行期間,我也喜歡在Bistro 31小酒館,CaféPacific,The Honor Bar和Mi Cocina外面用餐! 我喜歡William Noble的精美珠寶。 比爾還參與了我的一些特殊原因。 而且,當然,如果沒有Deno,我們該怎麼辦。

 

高地公園村(Highland Park Village)自豪地在此突出了我們自己充滿活力的個性和社區夥伴 鄉村之聲 系列。 了解一下 我們過去的功能。

the issue > Get to Know | Village Voices > February 1, 2021
SHARE:

Get to Know…Louise Griffeth of LLS

KKS Village Voices Feature

Explain the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s mission and how you got involved with the organization.

I first became involved years ago when my dear friends, Janet Evans and Rusty Duvall, started the first luncheon to raise money for Leukemia research. The mission of the LLS became personal when my husband, Guy, was diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma over six years ago. There is no cure for these blood cancers yet, so staying in remission after Guy’s six months of chemotherapy and a stem cell transplant has been our goal. He has been in an MDA Trial for the past three years that they think will keep him in remission longer. Research and new treatments are key for us and for all families who are in their, sometimes scary, “new normal” of life with blood cancers. We are grateful for the hard work of raising funds for this good cause!


Tell us a little about yourself and your background.

Guy and I met on a blind date when I was attending The University of Texas. He had graduated from UT the year before and was coming down for the Texas-SMU football game. It was Halloween weekend 1970. Mutual friends thought we would have fun together and we did! I finally found someone who liked to dance as much as I did! We married two years later and after I graduated. We celebrated our 48th anniversary on September 30, 2020.

Guy was born and raised in Dallas and I grew up in Tyler, but I quickly fell in love with my new home. We have two grown sons: Spence, who is a stand-up comic in LA, and Teal, who works for Lincoln-Harris commercial real estate and has a side business called YUM TUMS DALLAS that makes delicious gluten-free muffins. Teal brought a precious daughter-in-love and artist to our family, Annie Griffeth! She has been a blessing to us all!


What makes LLS so special and impactful to the Dallas community?

I really appreciate how people and businesses in Dallas partner with area non-profits to make this city a place of caring and hope for all its citizens. Philanthropy is encouraged and appreciated here.


What do you enjoy the most about being a part of the LLS organization?

Besides helping to raise needed funds for research, I have enjoyed getting to know some of the staff and volunteers of this year’s committee led by the amazing Melinda Knowles. They are such caring, committed people and have true hearts for others that inspire me.


How does support from community partners like Highland Park Village help LLS have a greater impact?

We could not do it without the support of generous community partners like Highland Park Village. Highland Park Village has a long history of philanthropy and supporting good causes. It is one of the reasons I shop there. I determined years ago to shop or do business with the places in Dallas that were active in building up our community. Fortunately, Highland Park Village and many of its stores and restaurants are generous contributors, so it is the first place I go!


What are some ways people in North Texas can get involved with LLS?

They have many campaigns and different fundraising events for everyone in Dallas/Fort Worth as well as volunteer opportunities! They have the upcoming St. Valentine’s Day Luncheon and Fashion Show taking place virtually Thursday, February 11 – tickets are available at www.SaintValentinesDayLuncheon.org.


Lastly, where would we most likely find you in Highland Park Village?

The St. Michael Women’s Exchange—the women of our church, Saint Michael and All Angels, volunteer in this fabulous store and monies earned are then given back to the community through a long list of deserving agencies who are addressing dire needs. Carolina Herrera, Etro, MARKET, Jimmy Choo and Alice + Olivia are definitely favorites of mine because of the wonderful, generous people who work there and the beautiful fashions they sell. Even during the pandemic, I have enjoyed eating outside at Bistro 31, Café Pacific, The Honor Bar and Mi Cocina! I do love the exquisite jewelry of William Noble. Bill is also involved in some of my special causes. And, of course, what would we do without Deno’s.

 

Highland Park Village is proud to spotlight our very own dynamic personalities and community partners in the Village Voices series. Get to know our past features.