問題 > 了解 | 鄉村之聲 >二月26,2020
分享:

認識……偷窺者的團隊

圖為:達琳·格拉布斯。 沒有照片:拉里·伯克(Larry Berk)和托伊·坎寧安(Toi Cunningham)。

告訴我們一些有關您自己的信息,是什麼促使您在Peeper's工作?

所有者拉里·伯克(Larry Berk)自1971年以來一直從事眼鏡行業,於1976年成立了窺視者公司。窺視者的客戶兼執行副總裁Ken Hughes亨利·米勒(Henry S. Miller)於1980年為新的窺視者所在地定了租約。高地公園村是第六家16年1981月XNUMX日開業。DarleneGrubbs和Toi Cunningham在加入Peeper之前都是眼鏡行業的資深人士。 Darlene在達拉斯的眼科醫生那裡獲得了技術知識,並在東德克薩斯州的一家眼鏡店管理著產品知識。 Toi之前曾在一家光學眼鏡公司工作,曾是一家眼鏡製造商的銷售代表。 雙方都知道Peeper的聲譽以及老闆Larry Berk作為雇主的誠信。 在極少數情況下,Peeper's開設了一個營業所,任何眼鏡師都會抓住機會在其獨特的協作環境中工作。

您在Peeper的負責人負責多久了?

自成立以來,拉里一直負責。 托伊(Toi)在窺視者(Peeper's)呆了四年,而達琳(Darlene)呆了兩年。

關於你做什麼,你最喜歡或最獨特的事情是什麼?

我們給與了將時尚和功能以及技術需求與個性化風格結合在一起的獨特機會,以迎合每個客戶的需求。客戶花費大量時間和精力來評估他們的處方以及他們想要的外觀,以創建完美的一對眼鏡。 達琳(Darlene)和托伊(Toi)也會自行整理庫存,以反映其客戶的趨勢和品味。

你親自去過高地公園村多久了?

拉里(Larry)自60年代初以來就一直在HP村購物和購物,曾經在倫敦店(The London Shop)購買服裝。

您對Highland Park Village社區最感興趣的是什麼?

這裡有這麼多的終身員工。 每個人似乎都相處並互相幫助。

您是否可以分享有關中心,商店或您自己的任何秘密或有趣的事實?

拉里(Larry)的母親在今天的偷窺者(Peeper's)所在的美容店裡整理頭髮。 自1981年以來,Peeper's便一直位於The Village的同一地點。達琳(Darlene)是一個有競爭力的投球手,而托伊(Toi)的餐飲業務不多。

The Village周圍有哪些您最喜歡的景點?

自Michael Bratcher上任以來,Toi一直是Bistro 31小酒館的忠實粉絲。 他有超凡的能力讓所有客人都感覺像搖滾明星! Jan和星巴克的公司總是從一天開始。 該工作人員總是超越自我。

the issue > Get to Know | Village Voices > February 26, 2020
SHARE:

Get to Know…The Peeper’s Team

Pictured: Darlene Grubbs. Not pictured: Larry Berk and Toi Cunningham.

Tell us a little about yourselves and what led you to your job at Peeper’s?

Owner Larry Berk has been in the optical industry since 1971, forming Peeper’s in 1976. Ken Hughes, a Peeper’s customer & executive VP for Henry S. Miller drew up a lease for a new Peeper’s location in 1980. The Highland Park Village was the sixth shop and opened March 16, 1981. Both Darlene Grubbs and Toi Cunningham were optical industry veterans before joining Peeper’s. Darlene got her technical knowledge working for an ophthalmologist in Dallas and her product knowledge managing an optical shop in East Texas. Toi previously worked for an optical and was a sales rep for an eyewear manufacturer. Both knew of Peeper’s reputation and owner Larry Berk’s integrity as an employer. In the rare instance there is an opening at Peeper’s, any optician would jump at the chance to work in its uniquely collaborative environment.

 

How long have you been leading the charge at Peeper’s?

Larry has been in charge since inception. Toi has been at Peeper’s for four years and Darlene for two.

 

 What’s your favorite or most unique thing about what you do?

We are given a unique opportunity to marry fashion and function, and the technical need with personal style for each client that comes in. A great deal of time and care is given to customers assessing their prescriptions along with their desired look to create the perfect pair of eyeglasses. Darlene and Toi also curate the inventory themselves to reflect trends and tastes of their clientele. 

 

How long have you personally been visiting Highland Park Village?

Larry has been visiting and shopping at HP Village since the early ‘60s, buying apparel at The London Shop when it was once here.

 

What do you enjoy most about the Highland Park Village community?

There is such a large tenured staff here. Everyone seems to get along and help each other out.  

 

Are there any secret or fun facts you can share about the center, your store, or yourself?

Larry’s mother had her hair done at the beauty shop that was located where Peeper’s is today. Peeper’s has been in the same location in The Village since 1981. Darlene is a competitive bowler and Toi has a small catering business.

 

What are some of your other favorite spots around The Village?

Toi has been a big fan of Bistro 31 ever since Michael Bratcher came on board. He has an inordinate ability to make all of his guests feel like rock stars! Jan and company at Starbucks always start our days off right. That crew always goes above and beyond.

 

Highland Park Village is proud to spotlight our very own dynamic personalities and community partners in the Village Voices series. Get to know our past features.