問題 > 了解 | 鄉村之聲 > 1年2020月XNUMX日
分享:

認識……皇家藍雜貨店老闆

hpv.584-六月鄉村之聲

從左至右:卡倫·波特,艾米麗·雷·波特,扎克·波特

 

告訴我們一些有關您自己的信息,以及導致您開設美食雜貨店的原因, 皇家藍色雜貨店?

扎克: 幾年前,我在奧斯汀市中心開發了第一個皇家藍雜貨店。 這是我出差時的去處,我真的很喜歡它如何將附近地區融合在一起。 我遇到了要擴展到達拉斯的創始人,他們最終同意讓我,我的妻子埃米莉·雷·波特和我們最好的朋友庫倫·波茨將這個概念擴展到達拉斯。 然後,當湯姆·拇指(Tom Thumb)搬出時,我們都認為沒有比“鄉村”更好的地方來開設我們的第一家達拉斯商店和旗艦店。

 

你們在高原公園村的Royal Blue Grocery負責領導多久了? 

卡倫: 我們非常榮幸擁有Royal Blue Grocery。 在某種程度上,我們覺得它就像永遠存在於鄉村中。 我們很難相信,但是現在已經過去五年了。 就像昨天一樣,我們正在打開門。 它顯示了當您熱愛自己的工作時,時光飛逝的時光。

 

關於你做什麼,你最喜歡或最獨特的事情是什麼? 

艾米麗: 我們都喜歡美味的食物,但到目前為止,我最喜歡的是人們。 與我們的團隊合作並結識所有客戶真是太有趣了。 我們交了一些好朋友,這確實改變了我們的生活。 不過,我不得不說,我最喜歡的第二件事是品嚐葡萄酒,看看我們想帶些什麼。這很棒!

 

你親自去過高地公園村多久了?

扎克: 我仍然記得我第一次去高地公園村。 我剛拿到駕駛執照,開車去見Mi Cocina的家人朋友。 聖誕節的時候到處都是燈火通明,真是太神奇了。 有趣的是,我在德克薩斯大學的兩個學期之間就職於Banana Republic Men's。 快進10年了,我的商業房地產辦公室就在William Noble套房的大廳裡。 而現在,皇家藍。 因此,以某種方式,我一生的大部分時間都在Highland Park Village工作。

 

您對Highland Park Village社區最感興趣的是什麼?

卡倫: 沒有什麼比得上高地公園村了。 它是如此美麗,當您到達這裡時,您會面帶微笑,並感到賓至如歸。 每個人都認識。 從鄰居到孩子,再到高地公園的警察,再到從業人員和顧客的代客。 鄉村使我感到賓至如歸。

 

您可以分享有關村莊或皇家藍雜貨店的任何秘密或有趣的事實嗎?

艾米麗: 我們的空間最初是30年代的Skillern藥房。 我們在樓上的樓上掛了一張黑白照片。 當扎克(Zac)在達拉斯市區圖書館在我們位於大街的第二個位置進行研究時,他發現市區的空間也是前斯基爾的! 我們那裡的金屬遮陽篷甚至反映了他們的設計。

 

您附近其他最喜歡的景點是什麼? 高地公園村?

扎克: 我喜歡所有的餐館。 這是我們晚上去吃飯的地方。 MiCo,The Honor Bar,CaféPacific,Fachini,Bistro 31和最近的Park House。 拉爾夫·勞倫(Ralph Lauren)是一家很棒的商店。 我的壁櫥裡可能有一半是理論家或詹姆斯·珀斯。

卡倫: 該村對我來說就像第二個家。 在這裡,我結識了朋友在Park House,The Honor Bar和Monkey Bar喝酒。 我在CaféPacific用餐,在MiCo約會。 我的衣櫥裡滿是貝雷塔畫廊(Beretta Gallery),詹姆斯·珀斯(James Perse)和抹布和骨頭的衣服。 每天都會在RBG每天拾起雜貨,在屋子周圍覓食。

艾米麗: 我喜歡在FRAME,Bandier,rag&bone和MARKET購物。 Dior是我的揮霍之選! 皇家藍天井和公園之家是我最喜歡結識朋友喝杯葡萄酒的地方。

 

高地公園村(Highland Park Village)自豪地在此突出了我們自己充滿活力的個性和社區夥伴 鄉村之聲 系列。 了解一下 我們過去的功能。

the issue > Get to Know | Village Voices > June 1, 2020
SHARE:

Get to Know…The Royal Blue Grocery Owners

hpv.584 - June Village Voices

From left to right: Cullen Potts, Emily Ray-Porter, Zac Porter

 

Tell us a little about yourselves and what led you to opening your gourmet grocery store, Royal Blue Grocery?

Zac: The first Royal Blue Grocery was in a development I worked on in downtown Austin years ago. It became my go-to spot while there on business, and I really loved how it brought the neighborhood together. I met with the founders about expanding to Dallas and they ultimately agreed to let me, my wife Emily Ray-Porter, and our best friend Cullen Potts expand the concept to Dallas. Then, when Tom Thumb moved out, we all thought there couldn’t be a better place than the Village to open our first Dallas store and flagship.

 

How long have you all been leading the charge at Royal Blue Grocery in Highland Park Village? 

Cullen: We’ve been so blessed with Royal Blue Grocery. In a way, it feels to us like it has been in the Village forever. It’s hard for us to believe, but it’s coming up on five years now. It feels like just yesterday that we were opening the doors. It shows when you love what you do, how fast time flies.

 

What’s your favorite or most unique thing about what you do? 

Emily: We all love great food, but my favorite thing by far is the people. It’s so fun working with our team and meeting all our customers. We’ve made some great friends, and it has really changed our lives. I have to say, though, my second favorite thing is doing wine tastings to see what we want to bring in. It’s a great perk!

 

How long have you personally been visiting Highland Park Village?

Zac: I still remember my first visit to Highland Park Village. I’d just gotten my drivers license and drove in to meet family friends at Mi Cocina. It was Christmas time with all the lights and was just really magical. Funny enough, I then worked at Banana Republic Men’s between semesters at UT. Fast forward 10 years and my commercial real estate office was down the hall from William Noble’s third floor suite. And now, Royal Blue. So, in one way or another, I’ve spent most of my life working in Highland Park Village.

 

What do you enjoy most about the Highland Park Village community?

Cullen: There is nothing comparable to Highland Park Village. It’s so beautiful and when you get here, you’re greeted with a smile and just feel welcome. Everyone knows everyone. From neighbors to kids to the Highland Park police officers and valets to employees and customers. The Village makes me feel at home.

 

Are there any secret or fun facts you can share about the center or Royal Blue Grocery?

Emily: Our space was originally a Skillern’s Drugstore back in the ‘30s. We hung a black and white photo of that store upstairs on our top floor. When Zac was doing some research at the Downtown Dallas Library for our second location on Main Street, he discovered that space downtown was also a former Skillern’s! Our metal awning there even mirrors their design.

 

What are some of your other favorite spots around The Village?

Zac: I love all the restaurants. It’s where we go for dinner more nights than not. MiCo, Honor Bar, Café Pacific, Fachini, Bistro 31, and most recently, Park House. Ralph Lauren is such a great store. Probably half my closet is either Theory or James Perse.

Cullen: The Village is like a second home to me. It’s where I meet friends for drinks at Park House, Honor Bar, and Monkey Bar. I have family dinners at Café Pacific and date nights at MiCo. My closet is full of clothes from Baretta, James Perse and rag & bone. Groceries are always picked up daily at RBG for food around the house.

Emily: I love shopping at FRAME, Bandier, rag & bone, and MARKET. Dior is my go-to for a splurge! The Royal Blue patio and Park House are my favorite spots to meet friends for a glass of wine.

 

Highland Park Village is proud to spotlight our very own dynamic personalities and community partners in the Village Voices series. Get to know our past features.